Am I Normal Yet?

  • -Holly Bourne

Rating: 4.5/5

This book resonated with me on so many levels that I can’t think of how to condense it all in a review. The book revolves around Evie, who is a sixteen year old girl who suffers from OCD and struggles to fit in with her peers. Now going into this book I was only familiar with the stereotypical version of OCD but reading this book has really opened my eyes to what people suffering from OCD really go through and it makes me feel like an ignorant prick and really guilty for using the term so loosely to describe certain habits. This book really did show the reality of people struggling with mental illnesses and how society treats them and is so quick to pass out judgments when their support and encouragement could easily help them.

The characters were so real and I loved each one of them(Jane and Guy excluded,ugh), especially Lottie and Amber, Evie’s two best friends.Speaking of, these three started a spinster club where they talked about feminism and problems teenage girls face in this day and age. I ABSOLUTELY LOVED THAT IDEA. I thought the way Holly had introduced the concept of feminism in such an easy to relate with quirky concepts was brilliant. I am a huge believer in feminism and this book really synced up with my thoughts and how i felt about the whole concept perfectly. It also taught me new things and gave light to some concepts which I hadn’t thought about.On the other hand, something I din’t like was how the guys in the book were stereotyped to be horny sixteen year old douches because that’s not how every guy is. I would have loved to see a bit more about Oli’s story which wasn’t really addressed in the book.

My only concern is that although i loved the book it might not be an easy read for many because not so much because of it’s sensitive subject matter but rather because of the massive info dumps … most of which are rather reminiscent of the many posts I’ve come across on Tumblr. Additionally, I found the book to be rather draggy because I don’t see the point of having three male love interests. Especially when they were mostly assholes and rather poorly developed.

Evie was a lovely protagonist and I was amazed at the growth of her character towards the book and coming to terms with her illness and learning such an important message of loving your self before others. This book should be read by every teenage girl because it really opens your eye about so many things and teaches you important message which are so needed right now. Also I really want to start a Spinster Club now. Anyone interested?

Favorite Quote from the book: “Everyone’s on the cliff edge of normal. Everyone finds life an utter nightmare sometimes, and there’s no ‘normal’ way of dealing with it… There is no normal, Evelyn.”

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/23592235-am-i-normal-yet?ac=1&from_search=true

Song for the book: https://youtu.be/BhKlBH2_dVY

Leave a Reply

