DAUGHTER OF SMOKE AND BONE

61czWGfS9PL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_ (1).jpg

DAUGHTER OF SMOKE AND BONE

-LAINI TAYLOR

“Have you ever asked yourself, do monsters make war, or does war make monsters?”

I haven’t loved a book this much since A Court of Mist and Fury and that’s to say because I still can’t get ACOMAF out of my head even moths after I’ve read it. Two pages in the book and I just knew this was an unexceptionally good book, and it turned out to be true. There are authors whose writings I love but Laini’s was different than all of them. Her writing was really meticulous and so detailed, I did not only love the book but also the writing deeply. The book is written in third person point of view but I could not only see it all play out, I could also feel all of it, I absorbed the writing . Laini’s fantasy had me clinging to each and every minute detail like I have never before.

Karou, is a seventeen year old art student, living in Prague. She sketches in her free time and the descriptions of her sketches are so beautiful, I would die to see them. Karou has been raised by chimera, who would be seen as monsters if any other human apart from Karou knew of them. (I love the fact that she has blue hair, it makes her seem so more cooler and I myself have wanted to colour my hair blue for years now.) When she isn’t in school, she goes on errands given my her adopted father, Brimstone, aka the wishmonger, and collects all sorts of teeth for him. (I also love how a salon is a portal to his house, known as ‘Elsewhere’. If opened from outside, it’s a salon but if opened from inside, its Brimstone’s office.)

But karou doesn’t know much apart from what Brimstone and the others are. She doesn’t know if there are more or where she came from. She isn’t allowed to know what comes in and what is there outside the second door in elsewhere or to even roam around without Brimstone’s presence. She doesn’t know what the teeth she collects are used for and I myself could feel the frustration and the need to know things.

One day, while on an errand in Morocco , Karou encounters her enemy, an angel named Akiva , who tries to kill her after witnessing her trading teeth. But Karou stands her ground and leaves Akiva stunned by her fighting skills. Once, after she is cornered by Akiva, Akiva finds himself somehow not being able to kill this girl and Karou takes an advantage of his small hesitation to escape, but not before leaving Akiva who can’t stop wondering about that blue haired girl.

Akiva, I love him! A lot of the times, you see a tortured character but don’t actually feel it. With Akiva, you can feel his sufferings, how much he has lost in the span of his life and what a shining ray of hope Karou brings in his life. Akiva found himself doing a terrible thing to get information on Karou and later he even went to the heights of stalking her, which was a little concerning but once I found out the reason for his motivation, holy shit, I could have cried.

‘’Once upon a time an angel and a devil fell in love, it did not end well.’’

Untitled.png

I loved loved loved their relationship. From the first time they meet, to every other time, I could feel their love and chemistry to the ends of my bones. Their love at first sight wasn’t in any way cliché or unrealistic, it was so believable and real, I found myself just waiting for them to accept it or even just kiss, just to see their chemistry explode, and boy it did.

I also absolutely loved Zuzana, Karou’s best friend. She is such a bubbly and cheerful girl all the while being the most caring person. In the start, she didn’t know much about Karou, other than the fact that she would be called any time for mysterious errands and would return days later, tired but despite not knowing, she trusted Karou.  It also melted my heart seeing how she accepted Karou and her life once she came to know the truth.

There was also a small part dedicated to Madrigal’s story and at the time, as annoying as I found to be diverted from Karou and Akira, I loved loved (using this word a lot in this review) her story.

In the end , when all the mystery unfolds and the past and the present collide, I was left awestruck and lost for words, never in my life would I have guessed that and I absolutely loved it. I was also astonished by what the title actually meant and it made way more sense than what it looks like it means. This story is like nothing I have ever read and if you haven’t read it, I dare you to pick it up and fall in love.

 

Goodreads:- https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/13600168-daughter-of-smoke-bone

 

Song for the book:-Lights down low by Max

 

-Avi

Leave a Reply

