The Sisterhood Of The Travelling Pants

Image result for the sisterhood of the traveling pants book

  • – Ann Brashares

Rating: 3.5/5

This book was about friendship, finding yourself and all the things teenage girls go through in this age. Despite being a “90s” book it was really relate able. The friendship between Carmen, Tibby, Bridget and Lena is not ideal or perfect but it’s real and I love storylines that focus on friendships rather than the romance aspect. I was really intrigued by the title of the book and the pants are supposed to be magical because they fit all four girls and are symbolized to be confident and sexy and brave so they do play a very important part in the book.

The book was very nicely paced and each character had their own storylines which I enjoyed but I was annoyed when the POV just switched and it took me a few chapters to get used to so that was a slight drawback. Though the book really gave me a feeling I was back in the 1990s with all the background and setting of the story line through it’s writing. Speaking of the writing and plot line as a whole was pretty good but I don’t think this book required a sequel so I might not read that.

Overall I enjoyed the characters and it was a nice read which I would’ve classified as a “summer” read rather than reading it in winter nevertheless the book is definately a read if you like the 90s, friendships>romance and also #girlpower. I’ve heard there is also a movie based on the book so I’ll keep that on my to watch  list too.

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/452306.The_Sisterhood_of_the_Traveling_Pants

Song for the book: We’re Going to be Friends- The White Stripes

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PKfD8d3XJok

Leave a Reply

