The Enemy Within

41bblzvruHL._SY346_

The Enemy Within

-Scott Burn

We received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Sci fi isn’t my usual genre but as soon as I read the synopsis I was intrigued and this book didn’t let me down.

I loved how we were In the story from first page and no wasting time. So Max is a seventeen year old boy who’s mother is dead, father long gone and a foster father who only cares about the money. Max has no one and he feels useless so when he starts hallucinating, thinking he’s crazy – he attempts suicide- only to be found and taken to a mental hospital where he finds strength through a doctor. But what he sees aren’t hallucinations- they’re prophecies and something needs to be done fast.

On the other side there are three other teenagers waiting for him- some kids who are like him , not exactly human. When Max finally gets together with Vincent, Noah and Jamie- his life changes. But will it be for better or for worse?

I enjoyed the story, its fast paced and even though its only around 150 pages, leaving some instances, it didn’t feel to rushed up. The plotline is pretty entertaining and I liked the fact that aliens aren’t just shown as a weird unusual or an in human figure but just as a normal but more advanced mankind.

I never felt like I connected to any of the characters but I like and enjoyed all of them. This book is more of a seeing a movie kind of perspective than living in it and that was fine too. Another thing I appreciate is that 17 year old kids behave and feel 17 they are still lost and trying to find what’s going on and a little moody and cranky but still supportive and loving. I think these days in most YA books, the characters just feel older than they are and this was a good change.

There were a few clichés and I’m not the biggest fan of the romance here but they didn’t take me too far away from the story.

The Enemy Within name suits so well to this story. It’s a fast, easy and fun read and I gave it 3.5 or 4/ 5 stars.  Even if you don’t usually read sci-fi like me, I would totally suggest this book.

-Avi

 

About The Author :

Scott Burn is a former lawyer turned writer. He is the creator of the science fiction comic book series AGON and has sold several feature screenplays as well. THE ENEMY WITHIN is this first novel. He lives in Los Angeles with his wife, Sarah, three step children and two toe-nibbling cats. He loves that LA offers biking, hiking, surfing and skiing all relatively close by. He doesn’t do any of those things, but imagines he might in an alternative universe.

Goodreads: Here

Amazon: Here

Mr.Burn’s Website : http://www.scottburn.xyz/

 

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “The Enemy Within

  1. I thoroughly enjoyed this one and was so glad to connect with Scott about it! It is well written, intriguing, and suspenseful! I’m glad his book is getting out there, and getting positive reviews! It made me start my third watch through of the Roswell series, haha!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Roswell is a TV series with a plot similar to The Enemy Within and it is based off a book series called Roswell High. Definitely worth watching, and I just found the books on half.com so I will review them and let you know if the books are any better than the show. The show is one of my favorites!

        Liked by 1 person

      1. I haven’t used it in a lesson plan bc I don’t have a physical copy, but I do plan on using it when I get one. I have a little library where they can “check out” books though they don’t always remember to sign them out. The more precious copies stay with me.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

