Jane Eyre- The movie 2011

Jane_Eyre_Poster

based off the novel

Let me just start off by saying, there are like three movies and a TV show like what? I’m not the biggest fan of book to movie adaptations but its always a treat to get to watch it after I read it.

I have all kinds of thoughts for the movie which I will try my best to put in systematically.

Let me start off by saying that I really liked the cast. Compared to the other ones and individually itself, these characters remind me the most of what I imagined Jane and Edward to be, obviously not perfect but the cast wasn’t extra ugly or perfect which I admire.

The movie itself was entertaining and really fun to see but it had missed so many minor and some major details. Now I know a movie cant obviously include all the details of the book in such a short span but I feel like so much was not said and a lot of the scenes, locations and timings were changed too which is a bummer.

Seen from the point of view of someone who hasn’t read the book, the movie is pretty good but it does not do proper justice to the book. They also missed a really important (according to me but I’m pretty sure it is) part of the book which has me kind of annoyed.

The film did a good job of portraying Jane Eyre and her mind but I am pretty sure It could’ve been way better. Although it did help me see Jane’s silent nature a little better for you cant really see that in the book.

I loved the chemistry between Mia Wasikowska and Michael Fassbender , loved loved it. They were passionate and I feel like they did a pretty decent justice to the romance shown in the book.

Lastly, I had a great time watching the movie once I had shut down the bookish mind (which surprisingly wasn’t that hard even though it mildly popped up at instances) and as an individual self (which isn’t really possible cause the book is the classic but ignoring that point). But it definitely didn’t manifest the meaning of the book or how fierce Jane was as an individual and how strong her and Edward’s love was.

I give the movie a 4 star but compared to the book , a 2.5 or 3 star which I hate to give because I enjoyed the movie but as I said- it did not do total or even majority justice to the book.

Also, i found these transformations quite surprising,

-Avi

 

 

4 thoughts on “Jane Eyre- The movie 2011

Leave a Reply

