Twilight – Discussion

53f54688e606578642a60b38788c295d.jpg

When I was 12, I was recommended Twilight and that book changed my life without a doubt. At this point of time, i was completely unaware of YA or fiction books or the fact that there were so many of them, so easy to find and read and I was just blind to this world.  I had read Enid Blyton books like most kids but never fallen in love with reading you know.

It was my first YA book , first book having romance, first novel which was Enid Blyton – Just my introduction to real books. And boy I feel in love with it and I read the series like i hadn’t read any book before and I fell in love with reading. I was awestruck by vampires and this imagination and romance like wow this is amazing why did I not find this before?!

I liked Bella and I liked Jacob and I loved loved loved Edward like he was the greatest guy ever and every time I’d hear someone criticize them or say how lame or cliche they were, I won’t get it. I didn’t even get why people didn’t like Kristen Steward until a few years ago when I re read parts of the books and watched the movie and realized, oh that’s why. I even recently found it buried down on my shelf and just skimmed through it, cringing and cringing because like what the hell? That’s literally all the reasons why I DNF a book.

But I can’t say that I hate the series or even dislike it because as cliche and as stereotypical as it is, it holds a special place in my heart because that’s what bought me into reading and made me fall in love with it. When I see someone bullying the book , even though I low key agree with them, I have this sudden urge to protect the book like I would my poor little child which makes perfect sense of how attached I am to it.

I don’t feel like I’m the only person feeling this way because Twilight was one of the biggest framing of YA and books a huge amount of teenagers have read like they have Harry Potter or The Chronicles Of Narnia or Percy Jackson (yes I know the irony of the genres here).

I’m not ashamed of saying that I’ve spilled a couple of tears and fangirled hardcore over this book- what about you?

-Avi

35 thoughts on “Twilight – Discussion

  1. I feel exactly the same way! I recognise Twilight has its problems and isn’t the most fantastic literature, but it really made me fall in love with reading, and I’ll always love it because of that. I was SO obsessed with it as a teenager. I still re-read it sometimes now 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m so glad to see there are readers willing to admit they enjoyed Twilight! It’s not something to be ashamed of… many top bestsellers are not well written… Storytelling is different from writing. Some writers are so gifted but their storytelling is crap and their book causes me to fall asleep! 😅😂😁🤓

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Ah yeah that’s fair- I get why that would be annoying- I can only speak for myself when I say I judge the books not the people who read them- especially since I love my fair share of not-so-great books and would be a total hypocrite if I ever judged anyone for liking them

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I think I was a bit too old when Twilight came out (I think I was in college?) and it didn’t do it for me. I give the author lots of credit as a storyteller because I got so lost in the story that when looked up from reading, it was 3am! I find the romance really problematic on a number of levels, but I appreciate how it absolutely kicked the YA genre into gear and helped shape it into what it is today!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Awesome post! I feel the same way! Twilight will forever have a place in my heart. And yes I am aware of its flaws but I cannot pretend like I at one point didn’t love it. It was after all the book that started my passion for reading. Thank you for saying what I always feel about the book. Twilight forever!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Yes!!! These were the ones that got me back into reading. I had stopped reading so many books right after highschool. Then when Twilight hit it big I picked them up to see what the fuss was about then bam I am a reading machine again. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Same here.. But I think that was a phase, a good phase, I felt the same passion in Ilona Andrews book kate Daniels series first book when Kate means Curran… I am still TOTALLY IN LOVE WITH CURRAN. want him, need him… I sound like a total fangirl.. Even talking about Curran, I have got goose bumps. Hehehe

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

