Something In The Way

22359631._SY540_

Something in the way

-Jessica Hawkins

It was a hot summer day when I met him on the construction site next to my parents’ house. Under the sweat and dirt, Manning Sutter was as handsome as the sun was bright. He was older, darker, experienced. I wore a smiley-face t-shirt and had never even been kissed. Yet we saw something in each other that would link us in ways that couldn’t be broken…no matter how hard we tried.


I loved Manning before I knew the meaning of the word. I was too young, he said. I would wait. Through all the carefully-chosen words hiding what we knew to be true, through his struggle to keep me innocent, and through infinitely-starry nights—I would wait. But I’d learn that life isn’t always fair. That no matter how much you achieve, none of it matters if you suffer the heartbreak that comes with falling for someone you can never have. Because even though I saw Manning first, that didn’t matter. My older sister saw him next

As soon as I read the last line of the synopsis, I just knew that I had to read this book- the summary was enough to give me goosebumps and tingle a little , the book will have to be that good. I mean who doesn’t love a great forbidden romance?

So the story follows our lead, Lake Kaplan, a sixteen year old girl with her father ruling over her education and she’s the goody two pants in contradiction to her Tiffany who was still living in her parents house, hanging out with boys and having no job.

Lake meets Manning first when she goes somewhere shes not supposed to -the construction near her house and he returns her bracelet all the while they sit and chat a little. Lake has never met someone who gives her such butterflies and goosebumps, especially not someone this older to her and she’s enjoying this strange feeling until her sister comes along and steals her man from under her.

So Lake has never seen the harshness of the world, the most she’s ever even been out there is while listening to Tiffany’s stories or just seeing her sister. All year around she follows her fathers plan and studies all the time to get into the best college her father went to and is never given the option to develop more or see what she wants to do until Manning opens up her eyes to all that she can do. I didn’t exactly love her, she’s smart but a big part of her is still not adult so its just hard to love her as a romance novel heroine.

I didn’t like Tiffany in the starting , she comes off as very shallow and selfish and just mean and bitchy in general but the more she is with Manning, he brings out the better and caring side in her which she covers up with the cold side. I don’t exactly love her now but its somehow easy to understand her nature and how it can come off by being ignored and always being compared to the golden child Lake and thought of as nothing by her father and not protected by her mother.

Manning is the boy who saved both the sisters. He’s had a scarred past and is closed off in nature but all of a sudden he’s pushed into this tumble with two girls who changed his life. He feels a connection with Lake and wants to be with her so Tiffany starts off as a way to stay near Lake ( he can’t be with Lake because of the age difference) but he slowly starts seeing the real Tiffany too. I didn’t love Manning but I liked him a lot, he’s a strong and powerful hero and I admire him.

Something that really frustrated me was Manning constantly comparing Lake to his little sister and seeing her as one in the start and all through out the book there’s this thing of him seeing Lake as a sister and it was a big put off.

I liked this book , didn’t really love it enough to read the sequel. The writing was fantastic and that’s what kept me going even though I wasn’t that into the book after half of it.

3.5 / 5 stars

-Avi

Goodreads:- https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/32993133-something-in-the-way

 

 

3 thoughts on “Something In The Way

Leave a Reply

