Ruin And Rule (Pure Corruption MC #1)

22925912

Ruin and Rule

-Pepper Winters

I was browsing on Goodreads and I came across this book and I was reading the reviews and I came across Lana (Dirty girl romance) saying that ‘You know that moment when you pick up a book and you know, you just know that it’s going to be one of those books. A book that will keep you up until the crack of dawn reading. A book that you’d pass on food and sleep to read even if you’ll be a grumpy zombie the entire day. A book that will make your employees think you have a bladder infection because you take so many “bathroom breaks”. What? Too far. What I’m telling you is this was quite easily my favorite book by Pepper Winters, and this is coming from someone that’s read and loved her entire backlist. Yeah. It was that good.’ Yeah I didn’t even read further before getting into the book and damn me if she wasn’t right and if this book isn’t going to be one of my favorites of 2017. I have devoured this book like no other and as I tried to not finish this book in a day but three-four days, I have not been able to think of anything but this story in the time that I wasn’t reading the book – let them be the restless nights or the classes I couldn’t pay attention in or all the sleep I’ve missed because I had to be up early and read this book (helps that this book was filthy long).

So some tragedy and betrayal happened in Kill’s life years ago and he lost someone he cherished more than life and even now, years later, he is still deeply in love with her but all he feels anymore is vengeance and hate. That is, until this girl with the same look turns up before him with no memory of her past what so ever.

The girl wakes up with no recollection of her memory- kidnapped and ready to be sold when she meets Kill, this man with green eyes and even though she had no idea of anything, they knew each other and of that she was sure. And so was I because you can not – can not, miss that spark between them. It’s like an invisible rope binding them together but from the start you know that they are just each other’s soul mates and anything more if there is.

There was so much attraction and hate between them. Her hate for him closing her off and his hate for her looking like his past. It’s raw and dark and all kinds of screwed up and there is chemistry which explodes like grenade and it leaves you feeling hot and bothered and sad and fucked up with a headache and just clawing at your head because its just Pepper Winters okay she’s a cruel cruel amazing author. I have not read a book where the characters (well mostly Kill) hate each other but they can’t stay away from each other either.

Arthur Killian is the president of Pure Corruption MC and self made billionaire and I love him with all that I am. He’s such a tortured anti-hero living with vengeance and hatred for something that happened in his past, lying to himself and just barely surviving. He’s also killer smart and even the fact that he is a math genius is sexy at this point. What broke my heart was his love for ‘her’ which was as strong as ever, years later and how even after all that happened- he was still loyal to her. You can just feel how much he adored her and how alone and lost he is without her and its just sad. He’s the kind of man you’d want to love you.

Cleo or Sarah, gosh she is an awesome heroine. Even after everything that she’s been through in her life and let me tell you it’s not something you can even imagine, after having her life taken away from her and given a new stranger one- she is still courageous and optimistic.  There’s just this strength and boldness about her even though she doesn’t know anything about her. She stands up to Kill while everyone shudders around him and doesn’t stop until she’s got answers no matter how hard it is. She’s also loving and caring and so devoted to helping this distressed man after all that he does to her.

This book is a fairy tale in its own screwed up way and if there’s any way to believe in fate and soul mates-its Ruin and Rule. It is beautifully written, there hasn’t been even one point where it was cliché or over dramatic or stupid. Hell even a sex scene had me tearing up so you know the amount of emotion in this book.

Goodreads:- https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/22925912-ruin-rule

Song for the book:- Beautiful War

Twice it has happened that I just read the book and am listening to the song hours later and it made me think of the book and I’ve cried. Also the title! Beautiful war because this book was an ugly war of Art and Cleo but it was also beautiful.

2 thoughts on “Ruin And Rule (Pure Corruption MC #1)

Leave a Reply

