Baby Driver (2017)

Baby_Driver_poster

Baby has two passions- his music and his car and you’re about to see how crazy it can get when both of them are mixed.

This movie I tell you is the bomb, I have no idea why it’s not talked about more. Let’s just say I hadn’t heard of it until my dad was like lets watch this movie and gave me a brief synopsis so I didn’t even know the cast.

The movie starts with Ansel Elgort (who I really never found that good looking until now) and I go like ‘damn baby (pun intended)’ because damn he looked so cute and hot, I mean I was swooning alright by the end of the movie. But yes it starts ( and I’d pay the money again just to see the opening scene again )with Bellbottoms as our criminals for the day, Griff, buddy and darling (Jon Bernthal ,Jon Hamm and Eiza Gonzalez )get out of the car to go rob while Baby stays in and has some dance moves. That’s not the last time we see him dance though, it’s followed by endless coffee errands in his familiar sunglasses and earphones as he dances on the roads and gives a very la la land vibe.

The movie basically follows baby (Ansel Elgort) who is a very talented get- away driver as he’s indebted to a criminal Doc (Kevin Spacey) and is always just a small while away from being done with his job. Baby is always drowning in his songs (something he does to keep the tinnitus away) and has songs in his ipods for every occasion. Helping criminals commit crimes isn’t his first option but having no option and plus having to care for his sick foster father Joseph (CJ Jones) who he loves, 2850cb20-0832-11e7-95a6-7952b411c3fd_20170313_BabyDriver_Trailer1he keeps doing the job until he meets the girl for him, Deborah (Lily Jones),the waitress who comes in his life singing ‘B-A-B-Y’ ,and decides it’s time to get out and go on a road trip with a car they can’t afford and a plan they don’t have but it’s not that easy because to Doc who never has the same crew twice, baby is his lucky charm.

Let’s start with the music- I loved it, very classy and totally suiting the mood. Never did any of the several songs had me think , ‘not another song’ they were just perfectly placed.

The action, wow. The car chasing scenes just had me siting on the edge of my seat seeing as baby kept leaving me awestruck with his driving and like woah, that’s some quite amazing talents and boldness for someone who’s working with criminals and is almost uneducated in that field. I adore how confident he is and how he was like sitting there with ruthless killers and gangsters with his glasses and earphones on, not afraid (at least he didn’t seem to be).

baby-driver-poster

Now I didn’t know this until I did a little research but there was a lot of inspiration for this from movies like Smokey and the Bandit (1977), The Driver (1978), The Blues Brothers (1980), Point Break (1991) and Heat (1995) (mentioned on fandango groovers movie blog) and the romance was inspired by True Romance (1993) and Breathless(1983) which I guess gives of the classical old movie vibes and I absolutely enjoyed that.

-Avi

14 thoughts on “Baby Driver (2017)

  1. I watched this movie yesterday and can I just say I was mesmerised. There were even some scenes, like the shooting scenes, where I noticed that the crashes and gunshots were actually in sync with the music. It was amazing. I was swooning too by the end of the movie. I thought it was really well put together. I enjoyed your review of the movie and echo your sentiments exactly!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I wanted to see this movie so bad! I went to the theater with my brother and sister but couldn’t watch it. Because while I am 20, and my brother is 19, my sister is only 12 and you need to be 21 to buy a rated R ticket for a minor. So my sister wasn’t going to be able to watch it with us so instead we had to see Transformers. It wasn’t as bad as I had imagined it would be, but Baby Driver would have been so much better. My brother and I are planning on seeing it soon (without our sister). It seems so good! Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aaah yes that was the case w me too! It’s only for 18+ (crazy) here but I went with my dad and they thankfully didn’t see what movie we went in for cause who’s dad takes their kid for Adult movies (dads who know that the movies aren’t adults. Literally la la land was Adult here so you know) and I got to watch it haha. You should definitely watch it too , thankyou.

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

