Strange The Dreamer

img_6465
Strange The Dreamer

-Laini Taylor

Processed with VSCO with p5 preset

It was impossible, of course. But when did that ever stop the dreamer from dreaming?

Wow, just wow I’m so much in awe it’s un-real, Laini’s succeeded In blowing my mind once again.

I don’t even know how to describe this book other than un earthly because there’s nothing- I mean nothing in this book that you’ve read before. It’s an unimaginable and magical fairytale which reminds you of all the reasons why you love reading and its literally something out of a dream. Laini’s writing is just purely meticulous and detailed and just makes you believe that you’re transported to the world you’re reading.

Inside a mist, inside a dream, a young man and woman were remade. But first they were unmade.

Once upon a time an orphan was taken in by the monks and kept with them until he was chosen by the library and years later Lazlo Strange , a librarian, had never left his home- his books. Ever since childhood, he’s had an obsession with the Unseen City of Weep (or at least that’s how it’s remembered) a mythical city which disappeared years ago and has been forgotten about by everyone. For years he studied the city and everything about it but finding that city was always just a dream that could never be fulfilled, but what if it was?

The dream choses the dreamer, not the other way around.

World building on world building, fantasy on fantasy, plot twist on plot twist, this fantasy is unlike anything I’ve read before. I didn’t know what was going to happen or even what to expect but I’m still astounded on how everything just fit as the exact pieces of a puzzle in the end.

There’s gods and monsters and angels and demons and ghosts and mythology and just a whole lot of magic. And there’s dreams, several of them, dreams that are just going to make you more of a dreamer than you already are. It’s an eloquent fairytale which will make you believe in every impossible story you’ve known.

And so the dreamer and the goddess went shopping for a moon.

The plot is so engaging and enthralling, never did it let me go back to the real world and it’s just left me marveling and in awe. Laini’s writing like always was just riveting and spell bounding ,the book was almost poetic with her perfect descriptions and un fathomable reality.

“He read while he walked. He read while he ate. The other librarians suspected he somehow read while he slept, or perhaps didn’t sleep at all.” 

Lazlo is my kind of a character but he isn’t like any protagonist I’ve ever read. He’s unique and always In his dream world, not giving a care about anything but his stories and the city and oh my god I love him so much in a way I’ve never loved a male protagonist ever.

Lazlo Strange: head in the clouds, world of his own, fairy tales and fancy.

And I love the him with Sarai, they have one of the best love stories ever. I don’t wanna spoil too much of the story but Sarai is one of the greatest heroines to have every existed.

I think you’re a fairy tale. I think you’re magical, and brave, and exquisite. And I hope you’ll let me be in your story.

 

Another thing that I ate up in this book was the stories of the side characters such as Eril- Fane and Azareen, Feral and Ruby and Sparrow and even Thyon. Laini somehow managed to give us a glimpse in all their lives and make them a part of this amazing amazing dream in such a surreal way, I have no words for.

This book is dream worhy and ethereal and just beyond perfection, it’s something out of the world. I loved every single detail of this book that I will never be able to forget.

Thank you Laini, you’re the god of gods.

-Avi

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/28449207-strange-the-dreamer

 


 

 

12 thoughts on “Strange The Dreamer

      1. I haven’t even bought it yet, I think it will take me months still to read it… I’ve bought quite a few books lately (book ban doesn’t work well with me…)

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

