There Will Be Lies

There Will Be Lies

-Nick Lake

This book was a little mixture of entertaining and a child fantasy yet so addictive, I couldn’t put it down. This wasn’t the most mind blowing thriller and yet I found myself so involved and I loved it!

Getting into it, the story follows Shelby Cooper, a seventeen year old girl who’s lived with her mom, been homeschooled and never had much of an exposure to anything outside of their house. But her mother isn’t the only person she’s talked to, she’s also talked to Mark- this boy at the library and she sees this coyote and suddenly her life takes a 360 degree turn and she realizes everything she’s known has been a lie.

I honestly love how Nick has voiced Shelby, she’s the typical bratty, sarcastic and un interested teenager who’s most answers consists of a ‘yeah’ or none at all. She didn’t have any magical talent or sudden power, to conclude, Shelby is basically any teenager (or me at least) put into a bad situation. The way she saw things and the world and her constant comments made me enjoy this book a whole lot more.

There will be two lies and then there will be the truth.

Not giving out much of the plot, the story switches between the Arizona of today and the ‘Dreamland’ which has existed before us and will exists beyond time. I found this to be more of a magical fairy tale mixed with mystery of identity and family and basic mystery, it was the perfect not so heavy thriller to read.

The writing style is very different from the usual books I read and my main hindrance in the starting was the dialogues written in italic or from third person point of view but getting into the book, I realized that there was no way the author could have portrayed a big part and soon I actually found myself quite digging it. It also made me feel so dreamy and fantastical , like I was in Narnia and sometimes just sitting there not being able to put down.

I did predict a couple of thing that happened but no where nearing the ending, it was absolutely perfect and I love how some things were still left a little bit in the dark and left to your own imagination or just not knowing at all.

This book was a journey that I really enjoyed and in the end I guess that’s what matters.

-Avi

I was sent a copy of the book by Bloomsbury to read and review but all opinions are mine

Rating: 3.75 / 5

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/20613635-there-will-be-lies

Song for the book: Oblivion by Bastille

Leave a Reply

